Dec 16, 2018 06:48 UTC
  • Palestinians slam Australia's recognition of al-Quds as Zionist regime’s capital

The Palestinian leadership has denounced the latest decision by the Australian government to recognize al-Quds as the capital of the Israeli regime, describing the move as “irresponsible” and in violation of international law.

According to Press TV, Hanan Ashrawi, a Member of the Executive Committee of the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO), called on Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison to reverse his decision on occupied al-Quds, and to ensure his country’s firm adherence to its obligations under international law.

Ashrawi noted that such a measure “would be unilateral, illegal, and would jeopardize the chances for peace.”

She pointed out that the dramatic shift in Canberra's policy on al-Quds would constitute a violation of United Nations Security Council resolutions.

The Secretary General of the Palestine Liberation Organization Saeb Erekat also spoke out against the move.

“From the beginning, we've perceived the Australian government's decision to recognize al-Quds as Israel's capital as one wherein petty domestic politics steer irresponsible policies that contradict world peace and security,” he said in a statement.

“All of al-Quds remains a final status issue for negotiations, while East al-Quds, under international law, is an integral part of the Occupied Palestinian Territory,” he added.

Earlier on Saturday, the Australian government followed US President Donald Trump's lead and recognized the contested holy city of al-Quds as Israel's capital.

Trump announced his decision to recognize al-Quds as Israel’s capital and relocate the US embassy in the Occupied Territories from Tel Aviv to al-Quds on December 6 last year.

On December 21, 2017, the United Nations General Assembly overwhelmingly voted in favor of a resolution that calls on the US to withdraw its controversial policy shift.

Despite the vote, the US went ahead with the embassy transfer on May 14, triggering demonstrations in the Occupied Palestinian Territories, Iran, Turkey, Egypt, Jordan, Tunisia, Algeria, Iraq, Morocco and other Muslim countries.