May 29, 2020 05:30 UTC

Members of the Iranian Parliament have elected former Tehran Mayor Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf as speaker of Iran’s newly-inaugurated parliament.

According to Press TV, during an open parliamentary session on Thursday, Qalibaf received 230 votes from a total of 267 cast by the elected lawmakers.

Amir Hossein Ghazizadeh Hashemi and Ali Nikzad were also elected as the first and second deputy parliament speakers with 208 and 196 votes each.

Mohammad Baqer Qalibaf, 58, has replaced Ali Larijani, who served as the parliament speaker from 2008 until May this year.

The new parliament started its work on Wednesday with President Hassan Rouhani, Judiciary Chief Seyyed Ebrahim Ra’eisi, and Secretary of the Guardian Council Ayatollah Ahmad Jannati in attendance.

In a message to the new legislature, Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Khamenei highlighted culture and economy as the country’s most pressing issues, which require the legislature’s highest-level of attention.

Iran’s parliamentary elections were held on February 21, 2020. Over 24 million people took part in the polls with the overall turnout of more than 42 percent.

The polls took 276 lawmakers into the 290-member legislature. A second round is also expected to be held in September for the remaining seats.

With the election of the members of the Presiding Board of the 11th parliament, the new body has begun its work for the next four years during which solving economic problems is high on the agenda of lawmakers.